top of page

The 5 new Executive Committee members


President - Russ Price
Ph.D. (USA)

Dr. Price earned his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University in 1986 and then completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, NIH. In 1991, Dr. Price joined the Renal Division within the Department of Medicine at Emory University where he became a Professor of Medicine with tenure and a Professor of Physiology; he currently holds the rank of Professor of Medicine Emeritus. In 2017, he rejoined the Brody School of Medicine at East Carolina University as Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies and has appointments as Professor of Internal Medicine and Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology.

Dr. Price’s research interest include the mechanisms of skeletal muscle loss in chronic kidney disease and other wasting conditions. He has over 130 publications and nearly 9000 citations. He currently serves on Editorial Boards for American Journal of Physiology-Cell Biology and the Journal of Renal Nutrition; he previously served on the Editorial Boards of Kidney International, Journal of Biological Chemistry, American Journal of Physiology–Renal Physiology, and the Journal of the American Society of Nephrology. He has participated in study sections for NIH, Department of Veterans Affairs, Welcome Trust, Canadian Institutes of Health Research, and American Heart Association. He has served on the Council or Executive Committee (Secretary) of the International Society of Renal Nutrition and Metabolism (ISRNM) since 2015. He is currently the President-elect of the ISRNM.

bottom of page